Free AU Shipping Over $99*

Page 1 Created with Sketch.

Free shipping over $99

Vivaldi, Six Sonatas for Cello and Piano (Schott)

Regular price
Sale price
4 interest-free payments of $15.00
12 interest-free payments of $5.00
Notify Me When Back in Stock
Notify Me When Back in Stock

Vivaldi 6 Sonatas - Cello and Piano Accompaniment, edited by Kolneder

Binding: Saddle stitching
Content text:

  • Sonata I (RV 47)
  • Sonata II (RV 41)
  • Sonata III (RV 43)
  • Sonata IV (RV 45)
  • Sonata V (RV 40)
  • Sonata VI (RV 46)

Difficulty: intermediate to advanced
ISBN: 978-3-7957-9690-7
ISMN: 979-0-001-05665-6
Publisher: Schott Music
page number: 60


Antonio  Vivaldi

Born: March 4th, 1678
Died: July 28th, 1741
Country of origin: Italy

Antonio Vivaldi, Italian composer and violinist, learnt to play the violin from his father, was ordained as a priest in 1703 and became a 'maestro di violino' at the girls' conservatoire 'Ospedale della Pietà' in Venice for which he wrote most of his works and the concerts of which under his direction became very famous.
From 1716 he was a 'maestro de concerti' there, but in1718 he started to go on numerous trips to Italian cities as well as to Vienna, Prague and Amsterdam, mainly in order to perform his operas. From 1723 to 1725, he lived in Rome for the most part. An intrigue led to Vivaldi's financial ruin as an operatic impresario in 1737 and forced him to leave Italy. He died destitute in Vienna.
Vivaldi was one of the greatest violinists of his time. His significance as an instrumental composer is primarily based on his almost 500 concertos varied in form, instrumentation and character which decisively influenced the development of the genre in the late Baroque era. Among them are about 350 concertos for solo instrument and orchestra (about 230 of them for violin, the others for almost all instruments common at that time), more than 40 double concertos, over 30 for three to four soloists, about 30 group concertos without tutti, and about 60 string concertos without solo instruments which can be regarded as an early form of the symphony.
The concertos (e.g. 'The Four Seasons', 1725) are in three-movement form throughout, the first movement usually showing a clear ritornello structure. Their characteristic features are a subtly nuanced instrumentation, an effective melodic structure (especially in the slow middle movements influenced by the opera) and a lively rhythm. Vivaldi's style had a formative influence on many composers, as for example Bach's arrangements of his works show. Furthermore, Vivaldi wrote 46 operas (21 extant), three oratorios, more than 90 sonatas and trios, and numerous secular and sacred vocal works.
30 Day Easy Returns
Click & Collect Available
Free Shipping Over $99
Authorised Stockist

Why Simply for Strings

Personalised Service
Ask us anything, there isn’t a question too big or too small!. We’re there for every step of your musical journey. Chat to us any time.
Huge Range
We have a huge range of internationally recognised brands and new arrivals landing every week. We don’t sell duds.
Free Shipping
We love Australia! There are talented musicians right across the country. You get Free Shipping when you spend over $99* with Simply for Strings.
Professional Set Up
Simply for Strings’ dedicated workshop team deliver a high quality set up on each individual instrument, making them a delight to play.

Packaged with Care

Trust us! We ship more instruments than anyone else in Australia.

Any unlikely damages during shipping are covered by us. Delivery day is special when you receive a Simply for Strings parcel. All of our orders are packed by our team of musicians in 100% eco-friendly packaging. Investing in an instrument is a big deal - our instruments are carefully bubble wrapped and packed in custom boxes to minimise movement during transit. If anything is damaged upon arrival, we’ll sort it in a jiffy! Whether you're ordering a new set of strings or a delicate musical instrument, every single order is packaged and sent with care. READ MORE

Free AU shipping over $99