Free AU Shipping Over $99*

Page 1 Created with Sketch.

Free shipping over $99

La Llorona (Keith Sharp) for String Orchestra

Regular price
Sale price
4 interest-free payments of $33.00
12 interest-free payments of $11.00
Ships in 5-7 business days
Notify Me When Back in Stock
Notify Me When Back in Stock

La Llorona is scored for high school string orchestra with optional percussion. It is a programmatic work of approximately 6 minutes duration and is based on a Spanish/Mexican legend. The following text outlines the story and its connection with the sections of the piece:
A girl child named La Malinche is born of a noble Aztec family. La Malinche is sold to Mayan merchants for slavery. The music opens with an Entrada which signals the grand arrival of the Spanish fleet. The Spaniards, led by Cortés, begin to colonize Mexico.

Tango - La Malinche works as translator for the conqueror and soon becomes his mistress. 
Serenata - La Malinche is happy and in love with Cortés. She gives birth to his twin boys.
Fandango - Cortés continues his conquests. The King and Queen of Spain, fearing that Cortés has betrayed them and is building his own empire, repeatedly request his return to Spain. He refuses, arguing that if he leaves Mexico they will lose their new territories. The King and Queen send a beautiful, Spanish lady of noble birth, to help change his mind.
Bolero - The Spanish aristocrat seduces Cortés and convinces him to return to Spain with his two sons. Cortés tells La Malinche of his decision to depart for Spain with his children and new love. Emotion runs high and a sense of impending doom prevails.
Vivo Accelerando - La Malinche, now realizing the role she has played in helping Cortés massacre her people and the hopelessness of her plight, prays to her gods for help. One of the gods appears to her, sternly advising: “Do not let him take your children, for one of them will return to destroy your people.” The night before Cortés' departure, La Malinche escapes with the babies and tragically drowns herself and the children in a nearby river.

The folio contains: 
Parts for String Orchestra (8-8-4-4-6-2) 
Percussion parts (Castanets, Tambourine, Snare)
Conductor's score.

Grade 4.

30 Day Easy Returns
Click & Collect Available
Free Shipping Over $99
Authorised Stockist

Why Simply for Strings

Personalised Service
Ask us anything, there isn’t a question too big or too small!. We’re there for every step of your musical journey. Chat to us any time.
Huge Range
We have a huge range of internationally recognised brands and new arrivals landing every week. We don’t sell duds.
Free Shipping
We love Australia! There are talented musicians right across the country. You get Free Shipping when you spend over $99* with Simply for Strings.
Professional Set Up
Simply for Strings’ dedicated workshop team deliver a high quality set up on each individual instrument, making them a delight to play.

Packaged with Care

Trust us! We ship more instruments than anyone else in Australia.

Any unlikely damages during shipping are covered by us. Delivery day is special when you receive a Simply for Strings parcel. All of our orders are packed by our team of musicians in 100% eco-friendly packaging. Investing in an instrument is a big deal - our instruments are carefully bubble wrapped and packed in custom boxes to minimise movement during transit. If anything is damaged upon arrival, we’ll sort it in a jiffy! Whether you're ordering a new set of strings or a delicate musical instrument, every single order is packaged and sent with care. READ MORE

Free AU shipping over $99